Weekend Vacation

So this weekend was my boyfriend’s birthday.  Because of that, we took the weekend off and went hiking.  My plan to catch up with what I was doing went straight out the window.  Oops.  I did get some great pictures though:

A bee.  My boyfriend’s index finger for size reference.

I also saw a bunch of cool frogs:

And there were these cool birds everywhere!

So today I finally got cracking.  I put aside my corset.  The boning hasn’t arrived yet, and according to the USPS tracking number, it suddenly went from being ten miles away this morning to being in Kansas.  Wonderful.  So I decided to work on the square-necked chemise on page 90 of Fashions of the Gilded Age, Volume 1: Undergarments, Bodices, Skirts, Overskirts, Polonaises, and Day Dresses 1877-1882.  I went out to the local Jo-Ann’s and got lots of trimming.  Since they didn’t have the color I wanted, I got Rit Dye Liquid 8 Oz. Dye: Aquamarine.  I’m currently dying the white trimming I got to add a pop of color to the white muslin fabric I’m using for the chemise.

I drafted the pattern onto some paper

This is the muslin cut out and sewn up the sides

The finished side seams

Eyelet lace for the top

A four gallon trash can for dying

I filled it halfway up. Look at that steam!

I grabbed a knitting needle with a lost pair to stir the trimming

The color is beautiful, I just hope it sticks

 

The small knitting needle felt flimsy, so I grabbed a size 15. I never use my 15’s, so they just sit there. Now he’s got an important job!

I have to pull it out in ten minutes.  The top trimming is a surprise for tomorrow.

Wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

