Looking Through the Past

I’ve been working hard on my corset muslin, almost done with it, in between school and my heavy duty spring cleaning.  I also purchased the delightful Victorian Undergarments Class from Historical Sewing.  I don’t yet have a good set of undergarments to shape out a dress, but as usual, I’m getting ahead of myself and looking at all of the delightful fashion plates from the late Victorian era.  I do love a good hoopskirt, but my favorite era is the lovely bustles of the 1870’s-80’s.

I did a google image search for fashion plates, and found these two, one from ’75 and one from ’76.

This one has five beautiful dresses, but my favorites easily being the first, second and fourth.  I love a good plaid, and the first dress just screams my name in the way that the fifth just fails to do, and the fir on the blue fourth dress.  Exquisite.  And I love a deep purple.  Jewel tones have always been my favorite colors.   They are dark, without being dark, and just such vibrancy!  I could go on all day, but I think I’ll move on to the next picture.

Guess which one is my favorite?

You’re probably wrong.  See that sliver of purple?  The hint of a lovely purple and plaid/checkered print.  It intrigues me.  The blue is nice, and the white and pink is gorgeous, if way too girly for me, but the hint of the purple dress just sends me running to the fabric store.  (Not literally, I’m way too broke for that!)  Maybe someday, but for now, I have a set of undergarments to finish!

Side note:  In my traveling, between classes time I have been working on a Totoro variation of Paper Dolls by the lovely Katie Davies.  I’m basing my design off of the lovely project by Ghanima with Totoro and the soot sprites from Spirited Away.  Mine is going to be a cardigan and I’m only on the first few inches, but here is a pic of the WIP:

DSC_0071 DSC_0072

The red is my waste yarn for the i-cord bind off.

DSC_0073 DSC_0074

DSC_0075

As you can see, I ripped out the red and did a i-cord bind off.  The ends shown are where I’m going to steek this for a cardigan.  I’m not sure yet if I’m going to be putting in a zipper or a buttonband, but I’ll figure that out when I’m done.

DSC_0076

As you can see, I don’t have much of the black.  I’m going to work up to the underarms and then figure out what to do.  I do however, like that the sprites are understated against the dark grey.  This was intentional, and I’m not sure if I’m going to give Totoro the same treatment or not.  I kinda like the surprise of detail, but who knows?   Any opinions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

